Posted by: Stevie D | April 7, 2012

What we leave behind.

Just a week to go now before we set off across Europe to see who knows what. All the preparations are hopefully done and if they’re not, I don’t want to know. When we are on the road, my ability to post regularly may well be compromised by lack of connectivity but rest assured dear readers, I’ll do my very best to keep you all up to date.

Meanwhile, as I’ve posted much about my recent trips abroad, I thought it may be good to show some of the delights of where I myself live.

I am a resident of the part of the UK known as the Westcountry. It’s a big tourism area with a lot of spectacular coast and a green and pleasant hinterland. So sit back and take a quick peek at what Jayney and I will soon be leaving behind.

Firstly, lovely Dorset.

Looking down at the spectacular Lulworth Cove in south Dorset.

A walk up the coast path brings you to Durdle Door.

Many miles of shingle make up Chesil Beach.

My home county is Devon. It has the areas biggest cities but also many treasures largely unknown to the majority of tourists.

A winters day at Fingle Bridge.

The ancient Fingle Bridge.

Idyllic setting for a meal by the River Teign.

Cornwall is a unique county with it’s own atmosphere, it’s own food, even it’s own language(although not many speak it nowadays).

Lovely part of the coast in West Cornwall.

Cornwall is full of surprises.

Looking from Rock across the Camel estuary towards Padstow.

St Mawes, overlooking Falmouth Bay.

The view along the coast from Porthcurno near Lands End.

The Minack Theatre is an open air theatre on towering cliffs overlooking the wild Atlantic Ocean at Porthcurno, near Lands End. Jayney and I thought we needed a little culture, but boy, was it cold.

Take your seats at the Minack Theatre.

A cold and expectant audience await the thespians.

Shakespeare as you've never seen him before.

We’ll go in July next time.

Hope you enjoyed scratching the surface of the Westcountry. Sometimes we don’t fully appreciate that which is right before our eyes.

I don’t know where my next post will be from, or what it will be about, but please be patient with me and we’ll travel Europe together.

Responses

  1. Wow, what a beautiful place. Makes me want to take a little vacation there! Thanks for sharing about what you will soon leave behind. Looking forward to following your adventures! Wishing you the best in this new, exciting season!

    • Thanks Erica. Can’t wait to be away now.

  2. Can’t wait for the next installment. Keep us posted 🙂 Avis x

    • Of course Avis. I’ll be posting whenever I can.

  3. Beautiful pictures of where you live!
    Looking forward to joining you on your ride through Europe!

    • Hey there, it looks like we got ourselves a convoy. 🙂

  4. Hi Stevie, it looks like you come from a beautiful part of the world. Enjoy your ride through Europe and I am looking forward to the updates.

    • Thanks Arpad. Yeah, I often feel lucky to have such great places so near to me.

  5. Looking forward to your posts through Europe, will make me want to go back again. Good Luck!!

    • Thanks B. Things are a bit frenetic here at the moment. We leave in a couple of days and just now, I can’t wait.

  6. Hey Stevie D. I would love to come over to your home turf, but that other side of the road driving on a scooter scares this BikerMonkey! I can’t tell ya how excited I am for you and this big Europe trip, be super safe and report as often as you can! BTW: I would send over some Anti Monkey Butt powder but you will be long by the time it would get there, LOL!!! Ride Safe Brother.

    • Don’t worry about riding on the wrong side. They do that all over Europe. Be like me and ride right down the middle. You never get it wrong then. And there seems to be much less traffic there… 🙂

      • Yeah, I love riding the middle, nothing like near miss chicken for some excitement. I like for others to know it’s my lane, LOL.

      • Yeah, that’s why they put those lines there I believe…to keep it clear for me.

  7. Have a great trip Steve. Look forward to seeing your journey unfold.

    • Thanks Man. We have been on the road for two weeks now and are currently on the south coast of Spain. I haven’t been able to access the blog to update it since leaving home. I’m only in now as a kind reader called Dead Grim and Frostbitten nominated the blog for an award and I’ve finally gained access via the notifying email.We are here with Wi-Fi for a couple of days though so I’ll try to sort the problems.
      By the way, is this you Ian.

  8. Yes it is I. Cant seem to get my picture up but guess I will sort it eventually.


Leave a Reply

Categories

