Posted by: Stevie D | February 9, 2012

Norway – Part one.

I’ve travelled widely across Europe over my many years of two-wheeled tourism, but the country I’ve visited most of all is Norway. So lets look at this land and see what has snared me into returning again and again.

The scenery is, in short, glorious. Problem being that it is often difficult to see it through the swirling mists and rain. Oh and blizzards in June. Occasionally though, you step out in the morning and the sun is brighter, the air is clearer and the silence is more palpable than anywhere else I’ve ever been. And you immediately forget all the other stuff.

Sustenance and entertainment are horrendously expensive, well, compared to the UK that is. But that doesn’t seem to matter too much because if you’re off to Norway to enjoy the night life, you’re going for the wrong reasons. In Norway, the best things in life most definitely are free.

The people, in my experience, are friendly, pragmatic, resourceful and most importantly,they speak English almost to a man/woman. Helpful when, despite frequent visits, I still hardly speak a word.

I had kept on about the joys and trials of Norway to my good buddy Tony so much, that, when I was planning a trip to the Harley Superrally, he decided to come along. Plan was, visit some old friends in Kristiansand and Oslo, couple of days at the Superrally, they a few days touring the Western Fjords and mountains.

So it was that we headed up to Newcastle for the ferry across to Stavanger,Tony on his FXR and me on the trusty Heritage. We were met at Stavanger ferryport by my old friend Johnsen, who guided us expertly to his home in Kristiansand. We did as bikers do when they haven’t met up for a while. We drank and talked and laughed. And Johnsen did a BBQ on the balcony. Then we fell asleep.

Fishy BBQ.

Next day, after being heartily fed by Johnsens good lady Cecilia, we were off to Oslo and the next stage of our tour.

Frode and May live on the outskirts of the city in a log cabin in the woods. Finding Oslo was easy enough. Finding the log cabin in the woods was a different thing altogether. No matter how many times you pass a tree, it’s still just a tree. Not particularly recognisable from the millions of other trees. So after driving round in ever decreasing circles for an age, I finally did what no self-respecting male likes to do. I asked someone. Five minutes later we were there. Frode said he could here us driving around. No consolation in that.

That evening, the neighbours came around and we had a party.

Party time.

In the morning sun.

Next day, they took us around Oslo, a city of which they are rightly proud.

Tony,May and Frode atop the ski jump.

City centre street.

Next day, we headed north for the Superrally and a couple of days of Bikes,Bands,and various biker orientated shenanigans.Much anticipated.

A particularly handsome Harley.

Fancy a little runabout Tony?

The superrally is an annual festival for Harley Davidson riders, held in a different country each year.Many thousands of Harleys travel from all over Europe for Bike shows, stalls selling bikeparts and biker gear, and almost continuous live music. Mostly however, it’s a social thing where you catch up with old friends and make new ones.

New friends become old friends.

Ambience of true friendliness.

As our time at the Superrally drew to a close, our thoughts began to focus on the days to come. I was quite excited at the prospect of showing my old mate some of the sights which have bought me back, so many times, to Norway.

Responses

  1. I went to Norway on the boat from Tynemouth when I was 10 years old. It is still the most beautiful place I’ve ever been to. I’d love to go to see the northern lights one day 🙂 Love the bike by the way!

  2. Yes, it’s a very special place. On this trip I photographed some truly amazing scenes, but my little 35mm camera can’t hope to do justice to the grandeur and scale of that which is before you. More of that in the next gripping instalment. Oh, most importantly of course, thanks for lovin’ the bike. She’s my baby.

  3. Fun to read about your trip and learn a little bit more about the biker world, which I admit, I’m not very familiar with. I can imagine how fun it must be to meet at those gatherings, as well as the exhilaration of riding on a motorcycle through some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. Looking forward to reading part 2.

  4. Norway on a Harley? Hard to beat.

  5. Wow! What a great read. There’s something special about the people of Norway. In my business I meet people from all over the world. Without a single exception they are the most fluent in English, and among the most friendly and accomodating. 🙂 Oh, and thanks for the “like” on my blog. 😀

  6. Hey, thanks for stopping by Hawk. We seem to be cut from the same timber so I’ll be checking regularly to see your progress with the Wing.Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

